Student Progress and Promotions Committee

The Student Progress and Promotions Committee (SPPC) is a faculty committee charged with monitoring student progress from matriculation to graduation.  The committee regularly evaluates each student’s development to assure that students graduating from the University of Kentucky College of Medicine (UK COM) Medical Doctor (M.D.) degree program have the necessary knowledge, skills, demeanor, and ethical principles essential to professional competence. After review, the Committee makes recommendations to the Dean of the College of Medicine on such actions as graduation, promotion, remediation, dismissal, and leaves of absence. The Dean of the College of Medicine has final authority on all matters of student progress and promotion.

Staff Contact: Brendan McCarthy at or 




Kristy Deep, MD, Chair Internal Medicine 2019-2020 
Holly Danneman, MDNorthern Kentucky Campus Representative2019-2022
Ricki Goldstein, MD Pediatrics 2017-2020 
Fritz Lower, MD Pathology & Lab Sciences 2017-2020 
Stefan Kiessling, MD Pediatrics 2018-2021 
Beth McNulty, MD Otolaryngology 2018-2021 
Julia Stevens, MDOphthalmology2002-2021
Marcia Torres, MDBowling Green Campus Representative2019-2022
Melinda Wilson, PhD Physiology 2020-2021 
Mark Wurth, MD, PhD Pediatrics 2017-2020 
John Yanelli, PhD Microbiology & Immunology 2018-2021 


Berry Seelbach, MD Office of Medical Education 2018 ending 
Helen Garces, MS Office of Medical Education 
Andrew Hoellein, MD Office of Medical Education 
Michelle Lineberry, EdD Office of Medical Education 
Alan Hall, MD Office of Medical Education